Here I am, a Bengali, reading ‘The Glass house’ by Amitava Ghosh – a book written by a Bengali about another Bengali … three Bengalis set apart from each other by space and time …. As I was rummaging through the pages a few minutes back, I came across this movie ticket. Ten years back, on the 22nd of December, 2005, somebody at IU had procured this book from the IU library and with the book in hand, had watched a show of Pride and Prejudice. It must been one of the coldest days of the year … a day you would rather be indoors … just as today is one of the warmest days of the year. Makes me want to believe that it was another Bengali… another doctoral student taking a break from his or her writing … and thinking of other Bengalis … so I put the ticket right back where I found it … hoping ten years down the line another Bengali student will find it … and then, hopefully … think about me … wonder, where I will be ten years from now, on the 23rd of July, 2026 … and how different will the world be? …

 

 

 

Copy of IMG_20160723_182626152

