Routinizing an academic researcher’s life

© Sanchayan Nath 2015

Untitled

Fellow academic researchers,

I am trying to indulge myself in a thought exercise. Assume that we could neatly plan our day into well-defined slots. How would we go about spending our time in the most productive manner?

On the days on which I do not have teaching responsibilities –

I believe that there are two large groups of activities I indulge in – Category 1 which I refer to as ‘Matters of the mind’ and Category 2 which I refer to as ‘Matters of the body’.

To me, matters of the body constitutes activities like sports, which I relegate to early mornings and late evenings.

Matters of the mind is a more complicated category – consisting of a diverse set of activities like writing , administrative  work like emailing, paying bills etc., analytical work and a lot of reading.

From the conversations I have had, a lot of researchers prefer doing their writing in the mornings, completing their admin work just after lunch and then spend their afternoons doing analytical work. Evenings are for academic reading.

 

Does your daily schedule look like this? How is it different?

 

Leave a comment